Ernest Hemingway on board his yacht Pilar, named for character in For Whom the Bell Tolls

Facts about Ernest Hemingway
 (b. July 21, 1899 – d. July 2, 1961)

Major works of Hemingway

Indian Camp (1926)
The Sun Also Rises (1926)
A Farewell to Arms (1929)
Death in the Afternoon (1932)
The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber (1935)
To Have and Have Not (1937)
For Whom the Bell Tolls (1940)
The Old Man and the Sea (1951)
A Moveable Feast (1964, posthumous)
True at First Light (1999)

Grandaughter, supermodel and actress Margeaux Hemingway

Hemingway won a Noble Prize in Literature in 1951
Hemingway committed suicide in Ketchum, Idaho in 1961