In what U.S. national park is El Capitan located?
Who painted The Dance?
Fisherman's Wharf is in what U.S. city?
What is the name of the mass of charged particles held in place by Earth's magnetic field?
Who was the lead guitarist for The Grateful Dead?
Buenos Aires, the capital of Argentina, lies on what river?
What is the deepest lake in the United States?
What is the only of the Seven Ancient Wonders of the World still standing?
What city was destroyed when Mt. Vesuvius blew its top in 79 A.D.?
In what European capital is the Prado Museum located? 

What prison did French peasants liberate in 1789?

What is the capitol of Malta?

Where will the 2016 Summer Olympics be held?

Who was the first Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court?

Jackson Square is in what U.S. city?

What is the most sacred river in Hinduism?

On what Iwo Jima mountain was this famous photo taken?

Reviews for Game Show Trivia

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Best Trivia Book on the market, June 8, 2001

By "jasonh2@aol.com" (Troy, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

I am a collector of Trivia books and this one rates as #1. As a scholar bowl coach, I am always looking for material and the format of this book is excellent. All the material is in a very compact format, which makes for an easy study. The amount of material in the book is incredible, covering everything from A to Z, from pop culture to politics to literature. This book is a must for anyone considering trying out for a quiz show.


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, May 25, 2001

By Randy (Chicago) - See all my reviews

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

I heard Mr. Ferrill on WGN the other night hyping his trivia book. I already own over 50 trivia books dating back over 20 years, so I ordered a copy of his book. I have to say this is the most comprehensive trivia book I have seen. It is not only interesting to peruse through, but is an excellent study guide for many of the trivia matches that I participate in. Like the author said in his interview with WGN, it is an excellent study guide for Jeopardy or Who Wants to Be a Millionaire. This is the first trivia book that I have ever recommended to my team mates.


5.0 out of 5 stars Great study guide, August 5, 2001

By Tiwa (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

I took the test for Jeopardy for the seventh time last week and finally passed it, mostly because I have kept this book with me for most of the last two months. This is a wonderful study guide, perfect for studying for the material they use on Jeopardy. I wish I had it a long time ago.


5.0 out of 5 stars Millionaire answers, February 15, 2001

By John G. (Alton, Il) - See all my reviews

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

Our neighborhood group gets together a couple of times a week to watch Who Wants to be a Millionaire and play Trivial Pursuit. Last week one of my neighbors brought over a copy of Mr. Ferrill's book. Almost every answer above $2000 that night was in the book. It was like the writers of the show were using the book to write the questions. Since then I ordered my own copy. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is serious about being on Millionaire.


5.0 out of 5 stars Jeopardy Fan, February 18, 2001

By A Customer

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

I listened to Mr. Ferrill last week do an interview on a Worchester, Mass. radio station. I was skeptical about his claim that many of the $800 and $1000 questions on Jeopardy were in his book. So I picked up a copy of the book and checked it for myself. On the first show nine of the twelve questions in this group were sure enough in his book and the second show I checked eight of the twelve were there. My congrats to the author. As a longtime Jeopardy fan, this is the best study guide I have come across.


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one you need, August 24, 2002

By Samuel Krikorian (Charlotte, NC United States) - See all my reviews

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

I love this book. It is more than a simple exercise in memorization when I delve into it. One little nugget of info will often set me off down a path to new and fascinating knowledge I never had before. I got it because I am going on the game show Jeopardy, and in watching the show and noting what comes up, I would have to say the author does a great job of including very essential and relevant info. If you want a big book of arcane knowledge there are an abundance; this is not one of them. This book is recommended if you already have a fairly broad knowledge base to draw on. Otherwise it is meaningless and gives you rote memory, which is a waste of your time. I reccomend this book to fill in the gaps of your knowledge. Take a few months to go through it and take a more extensive look at the items that interest you.


5.0 out of 5 stars Great preparation for Trivia contests & Game shows!, April 1, 2002

By J. Colucci "viviansbook" (Encinitas, CA United States) - See all my reviews  (REAL NAME)

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

This book has tons of relevant trivia in a handy format.

Many of the questions from Jeopardy and Quiz bowl could be taken directly from this book.

I really appreciate the layout of this book. It makes reviewing very fast and efficient.

I am studying for a trivia competition and I really feel that this book is giving me a competitive edge. Presidents, Literature, Movies, it's all here. Well worth every
penny and much better than many other books I looked at!


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Study Guide, March 30, 2002

By Randy7728 (Des Moines) - See all my reviews

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

This is the best study guide I have found. The clues are short and to the point and you don't have to jump around all over the book to find the answers. Everything you need to study is in here. I wish I had found this a long time ago.


5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH IT!!, December 13, 2001

By A Customer

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

This book is full on fun information with lots of facts that will keep you interested for hours. Very useful-- I highly recommend!!


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, November 2, 2001

By Pat (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

This is one great trivia book. It is very easy to study and includes almost too much interesting material. By far the best game show study guide I have seen. I bought one for my mother and uncle. Highly recommended


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, May 31, 2001

By Jerry (Carthage, TX) - See all my reviews

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

This is the most comprehensive academic trivia book I have seen. Highly recommended.


5.0 out of 5 stars JEOPARDY! Hopeful Finds Gold, August 1, 2000

By Mike Nolan (St. Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

I am a person who has taken the test to appear on JEOPARDY! and passed it. I have often wondered, should I ever get that call I've been waiting for (to appear on the show), how I would prepare myself.

The problem is solved with this book. It covers EVERYTHING, and is extremely valuable because of how it ties pertinent information together. To use an example given by the author, if a question is asked about a Norwegian playwright, the answer is probably Henrik Ibsen. It's not that Ibsen is the only Norwegian playwright, but he's the one they are likely going to ask about.

There is another book by Michael DuPee (I forget the title), that is also very good, but this one (Ferrill's) contains an order of magnitude more information and it is packaged in a way that makes it very easy to study.


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding study guide, July 4, 2002

By Patty (Omaha) - See all my reviews

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

This is far and away the best academic study guide on the market. Nothing else comes close. Very highly recommended.


5.0 out of 5 stars $2 million question, April 23, 2001

By Ed (Chesterfield, MO) - See all my reviews

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

Congrats to Mr. Ferrill with the $2,200,000 question in his book from Who Wants to Be a Millionaire. I looked it up and found the correct answer before the winner could go even answer it. (Page 114) I just ordered a second copy of this book to keep in my desk at work. Great book!


5.0 out of 5 stars Bring on the competition!, September 1, 2000

By MARY E ODONNELL (St. Louis, MO United States) - See all my reviews

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

The format of this book is new and different. It makes learning "trivia" fun and easy. Instead of long, drawn out questions with answers far away, in the back, you have short descriptions and answers right there! I also found that the "trivia" is more interesting than most of what I've seen in other trivia books. The history and geography sections are the best for me. The book is well categorized so you can jump around to whatever subject you are interested in at the time. Everyone will surely find his/her favorite topic. After you finish you will want to be on "Jeopardy".


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference, especially for game shows!, August 8, 2006

By K. Clarke (The Woodlands, TX) - See all my reviews (REAL NAME)

I used this book to help me prepare for appearances on "Who Wants to Be a Millionaire" and "The Weakest Link" and also to study for the "Jeopardy!" exam (which I passed). One of my questions on "The Weakest Link" was even something I had specifically seen in the book the night before the taping! I have since used the book as a handy reference numerous times.

I would perhaps ruefully suggest the addition of a certain piece of (in my opinion, obscure) information that was my downfall on "Millionaire" - that the lead singer of The Sugarcubes was Bjork. For the record, the "Millionaire" audience didn't know that either.

I highly recommend this book and am grateful to the author for his work in painstakingly cataloging so many facts.


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Trivia Book, March 27, 2001

By Paul (Missouri) - See all my reviews

This is one great trivia book. It has everything. I have several other trivia books and nothing else comes close to this one. How do I get this author for a lifeline?


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally THE book to use for my College Bowl team!, August 15, 2000

By A Customer

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

As captain of my College Bowl team, this book is a must have! Never in one book have I found such a comprehensive amount of information. This book covers so many topics, all in easy to find categories, something that all trivia books I've read before this one lack. I competed in past years and am familiar with many of the type of questions the College Bowl competition asks. This ONE book had the information found in almost every question from last years comp. I am so glad I came across this find, I have made sure that at some time before our competition, my entire team must get this book and read it!


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT REFERENCE FOR TRIVIA BUFF!, August 7, 2000

By Greg S. (Saint Peters Mo.) - See all my reviews

This review is from: The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide (Paperback)

The greatest thing I have found about this book is how all the information is organized.... Easy to find even the most unusual fact.. I always keep this book by my side when I am watching "Who Wants to be a Millionare" or "Win Ben Stein's Money" (Why lie... I like to cheat and know the Answer before the contestants..) And with this book... the facts are just there.... Lots of fun to read!!


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cultural Literacy Trivia Guide, September 11, 2005

By Marilyn Lockhart "seallife" (Oregon, USA) - See all my reviews (REAL NAME)

This is a wonderful book for trivia fans. If you need to find information quickly, this is the book for you. Great Book.